• FIA World Motor Sport Council ratifies updates to Season 9 calendar of ABB FIA Formula E World Championship
  • Cape Town to host Round 5, the first Formula E race in South Africa
  • Berlin expands to a double-header race weekend in provisional 17-race season

Riyadh, KSA & London, UK. 20 Oct. 2022 – The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is set to race in Cape Town, South Africa for the first time on 25 February 2023, following approval at the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting today.

Cape Town joins Hyderabad, India, and São Paulo, Brazil, as new cities scheduled to hold races in Season 9 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, which opens in Mexico City on 14 January 2023.

In further updates to the provisional Season 9 calendar, Berlin will now host a double-header race weekend on 22 and 23 April while the two races previously announced for Seoul have been removed from the calendar. Locations for Rounds 10 and 13 in the 17-race season are being finalised and will be announced at a later date.

Season 9 marks the beginning of the Gen3 era in Formula E. The third generation of race car in the championship, the Gen3 is the fastest, lightest, most powerful and efficient electric race car ever built.

Alberto Longo, Co-Founder and Chief Championship Officer, Formula E, said:

“We are excited to announce Cape Town as a new destination for our series in Season 9. Our local partners are working incredibly hard to bring an ABB FIA Formula E World Championship race to the city and we cannot wait to see the futuristic Gen3 race cars competing against the iconic natural backdrop of Table Mountain.

“Renovation work at the Olympic Stadium in Seoul, the venue for our first races in South Korea earlier this year, means we cannot return to the same location next season as originally planned and so we are exploring other options in South Korea to replace this venue. We are also in active discussions with more world cities and venues to host an event on the other date without a confirmed location.”


Season 9 Calendar
Round(s) Location Date(s)
1 Mexico City, Mexico* 14 January 2023
2 & 3 Diriyah, Saudi Arabia 27 & 28 January 2023
4 Hyderabad, India* 11 February 2023
5 Cape Town, South Africa* 25 February 2023
6 São Paulo, Brazil* 25 March 2023
7 & 8 Berlin, Germany 22 & 23 April 2023
9 Monaco 6 May 2023
10 TBD 20 May 2023
11 & 12 Jakarta, Indonesia 3 & 4 June 2023
13 TBD 24 June 2023
14 & 15 Rome, Italy 15 & 16 July 2023
16 & 17 London, United Kingdom 29 & 30 July 2023

*Subject to FIA homologation

About Formula E and the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship > >

As the world’s first all-electric FIA World Championship and the only sport certified net zero carbon since inception, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship brings dramatic racing to the heart of some of the world’s most iconic cities providing an elite motorsport platform for the world’s leading automotive manufacturers to accelerate electric vehicle innovation.

The Formula E network of teams, manufacturers, partners, broadcasters, and host cities are united by a passion for the sport and belief in its potential to accelerate sustainable human progress and create a better future for people and planet.

About ABB  > >

ABB (ABBN: SIX Swiss Ex) is a leading global technology company that energises the transformation of society and industry to achieve a more productive, sustainable future. By connecting software to its electrification, robotics, automation and motion portfolio, ABB pushes the boundaries of technology to drive performance to new levels. With a history of excellence stretching back more than 130 years, ABB’s success is driven by about 105,000 talented employees in over 100 countries.