Ackermann 2nd in thrilling Vuelta finale

Vuelta Espana 2022 - 77th edition - 15th stage Martos - Sierra Nevada 152,6 km - 04/09/2022 - Pascal Ackermann (GER - UAE Team Emirates) - photo Luis Angel Gomez/SprintCyclingAgency©2022

•  Second best for the German of UAE Team Emirates

Pascal Ackermann took 2nd place in the 16th stage of the Vuelta a Espana (Sanlucar de Barrameda-Tomares of 189.4 km) in a final which, contrary to expectations, proved to be full of surprises.

The race seemed to be heading towards a straightforward group sprint, but an attack by Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 2.5 km from the finish, on a short stretch of road in a decisive climb, upset the program: at first only Pascal Ackermann managed to match the Slovenian, then the duo was joined by Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo), Danny Van Poppel (Bora-hansgrohe) and Fred Wright (Bahrain-Victorious).

While the Remco Evenepoel red jersey (QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl) was delayed due to a puncture, the five men managed to force a margin (+8″) from the group, enough to get to play for success in a narrow sprint, which began with a crash by Roglic and ended with Pedersen’s victory over Ackermann.

In the general classification, Roglic took 8 “from Remco Evenepoel (credited with the same time as the group, since the puncture that had delayed him had occurred within the last 3 km) and is now at 1’26” from the jersey red. Ayuso is 4th (+4’49”) and Almeida 7th (+7′).

Ackermann: “Roglic attacked by surprise with excellent timing and I tried to follow him. I was hoping that only the two of us could go to the finish line, but three other guys joined. My energies were almost exhausted and Pedersen proved superior, I congratulate him

I gave everything to try to win, it wasn’t enough: now there is only the stage in Madrid left to try to win, I will try to be ready”.

The Vuelta will continue with the 17th stage: 162.3 km starting from Aracena and finishing uphill at the Monasterio de Tentudía (final ascent of 4.1 km at 7.5% average gradient).

Order of arrival 16th stage:

  1. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) 4:45:29
  2. Pascal Ackermann (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
  3. Danny Van Poppel (Bora-hansgrohe) s.t.

General classification after the 16th stage:

  1. Remco Evenepoel (QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl) 61:26:26
  2. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) + 1’26 ”
  3. Enric Mas (Movistar) + 2’01 ”
  4. Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) + 4’49 “
  5. João Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +7 ‘